Enterprise Zone


In September of 1987 the City of Sterling initiated an application for enterprise zone certification with the Department of Commerce and Community Affairs. In the mean time the Cities of Rock Falls, Morrison and Whiteside County decided it would be a good idea to participate and be included. On March 30, 1988 the Whiteside County Enterprise Zone received certification designating the Cities of Morrison, Rock Falls, Sterling and rural areas in Whiteside County as an enterprise zone for 20 years. In 1990 designated areas of Prophetstown, Fulton and Lyndon were added and in 1991 parts of Carroll County including areas in Savanna and Thomson were added to the zone. In 2003 areas located in Mt. Carroll were also added to the zone. At the present time the Whiteside/Carroll Enterprise Zone consists of areas in the nine communities and two counties of which are Sterling, Rock Falls, Morrison, Fulton, Lyndon, Prophetstown, Savanna, Thomson, Mt. Carroll and the rural areas of Whiteside and Carroll Counties. In 2003 the zone termination date was successfully extended from 2008 through 2018.

Sterling's Enterprise Zone is handled by the Whiteside County.  For more information on the Enterprise Zone, please visit Whiteside County's website.  For a map of Rock Falls and Sterling's Enterprise Zone area, please click here.