Mayor & Council

Boards & Commissions


Mayor Skip Lee
Alderman at Large, John Stauter
Alderman at Large, Jim Wise
Ward 1 Alderwoman, Retha Elston
Ward 2 Alderwoman, Christine Wilen
Ward 3 Alderman, Josh Johnson
Ward 4 Alderman, Joe Martin

The City of Sterling is led by the Mayor and six Aldermen, four of which are elected by ward, and two which are elected at-large. The Mayor and Aldermen serve four year terms. The Mayor and Council conduct Council meetings on the first and third Monday of each month. Meetings begin at 6:30pm in the Council Chambers at the Coliseum, 212 Third Avenue. Council Meeting Agendas and Minutes can be seen online.

Check out our list of previous Sterling Mayors dating back to 1857.